KNOW THYSELF

The knowledge of one’s own mind is neither a religion nor philosophy. Even though contemplative traditions have been existing since millennia in spiritual context, the nature of one’s own mind can be explored regardless one’s religious, moral, or scientific believes. Mind cannot be directly observed from outside, therefore, we need contemplative methods to observe it from inside. Certain things are invisible just because we don’t know where to look, what to notice, and lack proper instruments. Meditation is a way to develop mental optics as well as a skill how to use it.

It's not just about experiencing special states of mind but rather about using special states to flashlight things we miss in our ordinary states. Missing not because of their absence but because we don't know where to look.

space and awareness

There are two principal aspects of our being seen from inside. One is the vast dimension of being. It is the space where all thoughts arise and are clearly seen. Not only thoughts, all sensations, impulses, perceptions etc. arise within the same space, still, to recognize this space it is usually easier to start with observing thoughts.

The second is the awareness which is cognizant. Cognizant not only of thoughts and other objects but also cognizant of oneself. These two, space and awareness, are inseparable.

the main question

The main question of the contemplative science is whether the mind which thinks thoughts and the mind which perceives and knows these thought are two different entities or just one? Do we really have a bicameral mind where one entity is producing thoughts and the other is receiving them or is the mind a kind of Ouroboros which is cognizing itself? This question is not for being answered but for being explored in one's own direct, raw, and immediate experience not contaminated by words. So, let's take the most intimate journey available to us, humans.

ONLINE CONTEMPLATIVE COURSE

SPACE AND AWARENESS

Discovering a mental space as an experience and not as just a concept is a crucial point in contemplative practice. This is the point when the practice of meditation becomes very clear and doesn’t require too much effort. This experience is a good foundation for many advanced meditation practices.

✦ recognizing mind as a sense organ

✦ discovering the movement of thoughts

✦ discovering the space where this movement occurs

✦ discovering the natural inborn awareness

✦ discovering natural calm state

✦ discovering the unknown

The course will be in Zoom. The recording will be available soon after each live session.

Teacher

Igor Berkhin is a long-term meditation practitioner, a Buddhist translator, and a teacher authorized by a prominent Dzogchen master Chogyal Namkhai Norbu. Besides teaching in a spiritual context, he is one of the pioneers of secular mindfulness meditation in Russia who also broadly teaches around the world. His online course on meditation created for Yoga Journal in 2012 immediately attracted 7000 subscribers and is still one of the most popular online courses on meditation in the Russian language. He presented mindfulness to important think tanks in Russia and teaches meditation for the students of Moscow Institute of Psychoanalysis as well as to Gestalt Psychotherapy community. One of his projects is about how to apply contemplative practices for recognizing and neutralizing psychological manipulations. He is a co-founder of the first Russian interdisciplinary conference on mindfulness as well as of the association of Russian-speaking mindfulness teachers.

the SCHEDULE

FIVE WEEKLY SESSIONS:
May 22, 29, June 5, 12, 19 (Sundays)

UTC at 07:00
London, Tenerife, Lisbon at 08:00 BST
Paris, Berlin, Rome, Johannesburg at 09:00 CEST
Jerusalem, Moscow, Istanbul 10:00 IDT
Beijing, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur at 15:00 CST
Tokyo, Japan Sun, May 22, 2022 at 16:00 JST
Melbourne, Australia 17:00 AEST
Wellington, New Zealand 19:00 NZST

If your timezone is not good for the course you can get the recordings at 20% discount.

PARTICIPATION FEES

The payment is done via PayPal. In a few days after the registration you'll receive an e-mail with a PayPal invoice or you can pay with a link .

EUROZONE
50 €. 

The payment is done via PayPal.

THE WORLD

55 $

The payment is done via PayPal.

ISRAEL

200 ₪ (VAT included).

Bank Leumi, branch 719, account 5404645

Recipient איגור ברכין, purpose תשלום

CONTACTS

special project

The course with chinese translation

You can also join a similar course that will be accompanied by sequential Chinese translation. Please notice that in this case you will have less possibilities to ask a question since there will be much more participants. SInce the course will have a sequential translation into Chinese which takes time, there will be inevitably less material than in the original course.

schedule

The schedule is on Fridays at 21:00-23:00 Beijing time.
May 20, 27 and June 3, 10, and 17. 5 sessions.

the fee

The participation fee is 31$ or 29€ or 100 Israeli shekels.

registration

Please notice that for the course with Chinese translation there's a separate registration. If you are an English speaker and want to participate send me an e-mail.

登入

https://contemplative.club/chinese (only for those who need Chinese translation)